I Dream of Ancestors

christerkarlstad

Artist: Christer Karlstad 

Have you ever dreamed about your ancestors? I frequently dream about my paternal grandmother who passed in 2004. However, since deeply researching my genealogy I have dreamed of ancestors I never met.

The first dream was about my Polish ancestors. In this particular dream I was in a small house in Poland. There was straw all over the floor – this was not a modern day house – it felt 19th century. Five or six men and women were sitting in chairs and talking to me in my dream version of Polish (I am not fluent, so I can only assume my brain created it’s own version of Polish). I couldn’t understand what they were saying, and they were trying so hard to communicate with me!

In my genealogy research I had recently discovered unknown Jewish ancestry. My dream self  took one of my ancestors by the shoulders asking, “Who was Jewish? What happened?” My ancestors continued speaking in Polish and I still could not understand. At this point I woke up. I have not dreamed of my Polish ancestors since, though I do hope they visit again.

The next ancestor dream took place while researching my Sardinian ancestry.

locationofsardinia

Location of Sardinia

The Sardinian ancestors are my last big brick wall. I am faced with the same challenge I had with my Czech (Bohemian) ancestors: searching an entire country for my ancestors. After two years I found my Czechs, and now I am taking on Sardinia. My great great great grandpa Francesco Capelli arrived in Pennsylvania 8 Nov 1858 (according to naturalization records) with his wife (named either Angela or Martina) and my 4 year old great great grandpa Giovanni Francesco Capelli.

I am all to aware that what I see right before sleep greatly influences what I dream about. One tactic I hoped would narrow down the Capelli origins in Sardinia was a surname frequency map. Capelli was overwhelmingly found in northern Italy, but had a presence in Sardinia as well. That night I dreamed my great great grandpa Giovanni (my dream self seemed to know it was him and not Francesco) pointing to a zoomed-in map of Sardinia (like google maps, ancestor style!)

goodmap

Giovanni, who went by John in America, pointed to Nuoro on the map and said the family was from there. I am sure while pouring over maps my brain logged Nuoro, but I think having your ancestor point it out to you in a dream is pretty darn cool. It is going to be even cooler to see if he was right! Stay tuned, I am just as curious as you are.

sardiniamountainsdreamofsardiniasardiniaancient

Many beautiful faces of Sardinia

My latest ancestor dream took place not long ago, and left me feeling peaceful and happy from the moment I awoke. This dream took place in Ireland, I was waiting for a train to pick me up in Dublin so I could visit a massive cemetery. While waiting for the train I ate a cheese sandwich in the station and shared information about my ancestors. As is common in dreams, I was suddenly transported to the most magical bright green valley where sheep grazed and a stone house stood. There a man came out and told me our ancestors had lived there for 10,000 years. He left me with a big toothy grin before I woke up. Nooooo, my mind said, please let’s go back to that peaceful place! Of course that did not happen, but it was a wonderful way to start my day.

irelandnageo

Ireland ( National Geographic)

I haven’t tried to decode my dreams or assign them a deeper philosophical/spiritual meaning other than what I experienced: dreams of ancestors.

They have been simply lovely.

Please dear reader, do share your ancestor dreams.

Categories: Ancestors, Dreams, Family History, Genealogy, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

